Cut 1" off the shaft?

Printable View

• 07-22-2004
    Old
    Cut 1" off the shaft?
    Hi,

New here. I'm glad I was able to find a cool Golf forum.

I started playing about 3 years ago. Took a couple Lessons back then. Took a two year break and just starting up again earlier this year. Took 4 lessons this year already. I'm ready to get serious. :)

Anyhow, I play with a set of Ping I3 Osize with stiff steel shaft. (Got it used).
    Black dot (standard).

I always choke down about an inch from the top. I hit ok I guess. If I hit the 3 Iron well it'll go ~190 to 200yards. I can hit about 250 with my driver if I really nail it good, but on avg. is probably like 220.
    My instructor told me (during my last visit about 2 months ago), that I change the lie angle on my irons and also suggested I take off about 1/2 to 1" off the shaft and regrip it too. (this is for my irons and driver).
    I went ahead and did the lie angle change for my irons, but as for the shaft, he was going to charge about $8 per shaft.
    I asked him, since I already choke down anyway, what's the point? He said, so that my grip will be at the "fatter" part of the rubber grip (the top) and I can get more leverage on the ball and hit it further.
    The instructor also said that he, or his shop, were Ping fitters of the year in 2002.
    I took a swing on this board with this chalk tape thing he put at the bottom of my 6 iron and after he looked at it, he said I should be an Orange dot.

I'm about 5' 4.5" (hey, I earned that 1/2"). I weigh about 162 lb basically all muscle (I lift weights a lot).
    I talked to a guy in the office who is about a 5 handicap, and he said that if I take 1/2" or more off the shaft, than my shaft would be super stiff and weights would be all off. He suggested if anything, I just get them reshafted instead, which can be $$$. Not sure who's advice to follow, I did nothing...but now I'm starting to think maybe I should've.