|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

Beginner Irons: Armour 845s or Hybrid based?

I'm very new to golf, have only played a full 18 holes once, but I'd like to continue to play a couple times a month. I shot about 30 over, but showed potential on some holes

I've been browsing around the forum and it seems the Tommy Armour 845s would be a good set of irons for me. I'm not looking to spend a whole lot of money and they're a good bang for the buck I've read. I figure it's better to piece together some older/better used clubs than buy some random Jack Nicklaus beginner set at costco. However, I imagine I should try a hybrid and it'd be more economical to get a set of hybrid irons then, no? I'm really only looking to spend about $125ish on irons though.

On another note, anyone got any recommendations for a good bang for the buck driver or putter?

If you think you are going to really enjoy the sport, save your money, go get fitted and buy a good set of clubs. Don't waste your time and money trying to hit clubs that don't fit you. Probably not what you wanted to hear but having made the same mistake myself several years ago, it is the best advice I can give.
    Hi Bore 9.5
    Callaway Steelhead III 3W
    MP-32 3-PW
    MP-R 52, 56, 60
    Never Compromise GM2 Exchange #4

For a beginner, I would spend money on lessons first to avoid bad habits. Just like others, I strongly suggest that you get fitted, especially the lie angle of the club head, it has made a huge difference in my game. Nothing wrong with buying good used clubs from eBay, lots of good used clubs on eBay, Callaway clubs are very easy and forgiving, especially the 2000 BB and X-16, should be able to get them for less than 200... and if needed, get them bend to your lie angle. Personnaly, I would wait until you really committ to the game and break 100 first then reward yourself with a brand new iron set... Good luck

https://bigcedar.com/golf/buffalo-ridge-springs-course/