|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

3 wood 15* or 16* hybrid or both?

I just wanted some quick opinions or maybe some advice from someone in the same dilemma. i recently started playing again and put a set together but now im not sure if i need a three wood anymore. I got a awesome driver that gets me down the middle of fairway for about 235-250 and then i bought a 2i 18* hybrid which is great even off the tee (well just about a half inch off the ground) which is good for 180-195, very accurate.

so now im thinkin to either get a 3 wood or a 16* hybrid. it seems theres no down points to a hybrid, i mean a little bit shorter shaft and maybe 10 yards in distance loss but prob easier to hit off the rough and fairway, i know i can hit a 3 wood a solid 225-235 off the tee but not that great off the rough or fairway, well as consistent as a hybrid.

Any Opinions?

Unless there is a significant distance difference between a particular 3 wood and a particular hybrid, it would be relatively redundant to have both a 3 wood and a very low lofted hybrid, in my opinion.
    I saved a club on the long end to add an additional wedge, by putting my 15 degree 3 wood in the garage and going to a 16.5 degree 4 wood instead, followed by a 19 degree hybrid, followed by the irons, beginning with the 4. There are many ways to play this scenario, and there is no one "right" way to do it. Whatever works for you. If you find a low lofted hybrid you hit well both off the fairway and the tee, it could certainly substitute for a 3 or 4 wood.
    If at all possible, test the clubs on an actual driving range to see what kind of distances you can expect with various head/shaft combinations.
    Seldom right, never in doubt......

La Cala North/Montemayor/Braid Hills No 1