|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

Callaway Heavenwood Question

I was hitting the Callaway 3H RH Steel Heavenwood club at a local golf shop and decided to make the purchase. I was hitting it well in the practice area and then did so again on the mats of my local driving range.

Well, I played 18 for the first time this year last Sunday and every time I took the heavenwood out and tried to hit the ball, I just drove it deeper into the ground in front of my lie. This happened three times.

I believe that my swing angle is too steep causing excessive back spin. I think I just need to use more of a sweeping motion to produce better ball strikes. This is my first time with a utility wood. I heard great things about them. Although I was hitting my 3 iron fairly well, I thought I would give this a try.

Any ideas on what I might be doing wrong. Any others make the transition from a long iron to a rescue wood and want to share their reasons for succeeding. I appreciate any advice you all may have.

I hit my 2h on long par 3 and narrow par 4 and 5's. I get decent results when I use a fairway metal type of swing which is more sweeping than trapping but you must still hit down a little bit on the ball. It sounds to me like you really didn't know what you were in for since you hit the club off the mat initially. It is always a good idea to at least demo off grass. It sounds like you are getting a bit over the top so try keep your head behind the ball when you make contact.

Good Luck!

Callaway's heaven wood feels bit strange for me, the weight distribution of the head feels wrong in my hand. I can't normally hit 80% of the 3 irons, but handle 90% of fairway woods alright, maybe 90% of the true hybid like Snake Eyes quick strike, Sonartec transition MD etc. Never like the half size fairway woods. I 'd try Ping's HL 3 iron, it 's one of those 20% 3 irons I can hit well and long.