|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

Thread: Beginner Irons

Beginner Irons

Well this is my first post on this forum and I have to say this is the best golf forum I have seen.
    Now, I started playing Golf around May this year. I have never played a full 18 but I try to play a 9-Hole Par 3 atleast 3 times a week. I don't know my swing speed or handicap. I use a very old set of irons that I picked up at a grage sale. I am really in the need of new irons but not sure what kind to get. I was thinking of getting a hybrid too. I would like to spend right around 600 on a set of Irons and a Hybrid. I hit my 9 Iorn around 90-100 yards and have no problem of gettign the ball in the air.

Thanks,
    Dups

Wow...tough question. There are so may good iron sets out there that it would be hard to pick just one. You need to figure out what your goal is first, that it, determine how much help you want from the irons. If you want complete forgiveness, you will probably end up with some oversized cavity back iron. If you want to perfect your swing, you may choose a more traditional club that requires more skill and provides less forgiveness.

Once you determine that, you should go to a range or course with a range that has a good amount of demo clubs to try. As long as you are right handed (unlike me) most places should cater nicely to you. Most places have a club fitting program for free that can best match your swing, skill level, and goals.

Taking a recommending from someone on a specific set without seeing your swing and knowing your goals is probablay not the best idea.

Good luck with your search and please update us on your final decision.. And welcome to the world of Golf....you are about to neglect many other things in your life while perfecting your game!

Quote Originally Posted by Dups31
    Well this is my first post on this forum and I have to say this is the best golf forum I have seen.