|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

Casting / Early Release

I have been golfing for a couple years, and play to an 6 handicap.

However, when videotaping my swing, I have always fought the same problem, "Casting / Early Release."

It really kills me to say the least. I have been told I have a beautiful swing by many coaches, as I play golf for my High School, but if theres one thing thats holding my game from really taking off its this dreaded early release of the club on the downswing.

Any advice on how to cure it would be GREATLY appreciated.

I want to cure this fault before next season, so I can really go low.

Thanks guys!

Mike

This may help
    http://www.golfonline.com/golfonline..._10_sh,00.html

I would also highly recommend picking up Hogans - 5 fundamentals of golf if you have not already. It is about $15 and is invaluable for any fundamental functions of the grip and swing.

Good Luck

Quote Originally Posted by GuyWhoGolfs
    I have been golfing for a couple years, and play to an 6 handicap.

However, when videotaping my swing, I have always fought the same problem, "Casting / Early Release."

It really kills me to say the least. I have been told I have a beautiful swing by many coaches, as I play golf for my High School, but if theres one thing thats holding my game from really taking off its this dreaded early release of the club on the downswing.

Any advice on how to cure it would be GREATLY appreciated.

I want to cure this fault before next season, so I can really go low.

Thanks guys!

Mike

pa's link is great, i have worked with my daughter in the past several years on this problem and for 2-3 years she just cannot get over the casting.

partly because in my opinion, her arms are not strong enough to maintain the hinge. but we keep at it, doing a little weight ex to strength the wrists, both flexion and extension.

2 things i try to teach her: