|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

new golfer what degree of loft should i use on my driver?

need help a.s.a.p

Quote Originally Posted by MIKEY7S
    need help a.s.a.p
    no one can answer this for you. There are so many factors that go into pickin a driver. One thing that anyone will tell you is that for a beginner hitting a driver in the fairway will be difficult. A driver with more loft will create more spin and thus make the ball go straighter. As a beginner I would not invest alot of money in a driver until your swing is more polished. Then the driver can be more suited to your game and not just a spur of the moment pickup off the shelf.

As a rule of thumb, the more loft the better as a beginner. I'd start at least at 10.5 degrees and seriously consider an even higher loft than that. As you get better and have a better idea of what you want/need from your equipment you can decide to stick to that loft or progressively "De-loft" your driver. You'll find a higher lofted driver much easier to hit and get more enjoyment out of it at your stage.

Can't help but agree with MIKEY7S opinion. May I suggest that you consider spending 5 bucks on this book

How Golf Clubs Affect Your Ability To Scoreby Ralph Maltby

or consider visiting while you're waiting for the book to arrive.

http://www.twgolftech.com/whypro/

Good Golf Digest article on driver loft:

http://www.golfdigest.com/instructio...00311loft.html

Quote Originally Posted by habs001
    As a rule of thumb, the more loft the better as a beginner. I'd start at least at 10.5 degrees and seriously consider an even higher loft than that. As you get better and have a better idea of what you want/need from your equipment you can decide to stick to that loft or progressively "De-loft" your driver. You'll find a higher lofted driver much easier to hit and get more enjoyment out of it at your stage.