|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

3 wood really more forgiving?

I'm still fairly new to this game and still fairly inconsistent.

I never really try to 'bomb' it off the tee because I know that will lead to wild mishits all over the show. However some days the Driver just works like a dream and most drives seem to sail down the middle of the fairway on a beautiful high trajectory. On those days as the confidence grows I sometimes can't help giving it that little bit extra! Usually with varying results from wild slices to big hooks. The longest drives still tend to be the ones where I swing easy and just time it right. On these days I love my Driver.

However on other days I can't buy a drive on my own fairway no matter how easy or relaxed I try to swing. On these days I usually trade in my Driver for a 3 wood, 5 wood or Hybrid depending on the hole.

However whilst I agree that using a fairway wood or hybrid is good for course management on certain holes I have found that on the bad driving days even the 3/5 wood flies all over the place and I find I might as well persist with the Driver. In other words a 3 wood won't fix a bad swing and the big face on these modern 460 drivers is possibly more forgiving than the smaller more traditional face of the 3 wood.

Anybody agree/disagree with that assessment?

for better players (ie meaning more consistent swing) i would agree. but for not as good players (no offence, just saying), it tends to be easier for your mind to have the smaller club (easier to hit sweetspot) in front of them. With more loft to make the shot better anyways. The biggest thing ive noticed, and remember from a couple years back. When your a beginner, you want to hit it far, so u persist with the driver, even though u hit the 3 wood farther, because u get the benefit from the loft. I was lucky enough when i started, i never had a driver, my dad wouldnt get me one till i was a 15 handicap he said. helped me a ton.