|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

Bounce on wedges - HELP!!!

I have been using the same lob wedge for about 4 years (adams tom watson / 60 loft, 7 bounce) - I have had a bit of luck) now I have an opportunity to upgrade - (credit card points) to get me Titleist Spin Milled, but only offered 60-04. I regularly use it from tighter lies - fringe, short of green fairway, not too often from the deep stuff - is this a good bounce for me - clueless. Also - what is difference Chrome v. Oil Canned - looks only??? - Thanks in advance...

Quote Originally Posted by Jay Kotes
    I have been using the same lob wedge for about 4 years (adams tom watson / 60 loft, 7 bounce) - I have had a bit of luck) now I have an opportunity to upgrade - (credit card points) to get me Titleist Spin Milled, but only offered 60-04. I regularly use it from tighter lies - fringe, short of green fairway, not too often from the deep stuff - is this a good bounce for me - clueless. Also - what is difference Chrome v. Oil Canned - looks only??? - Thanks in advance...

You will have a tendency to "dig" into the ground more with the Spin Milled(SM). This is actually better for the type of ground you say you play off of. The SM will make it easier to hit the ball crisp and you will find yourseld hitting less thin shots and blades over the green.

The only place you would want more bounce would be if you were playing from soft ground.

The only differance between those 2 SM wedges is the finish. They will play the exact same, just look different.

Good luck and enjoy the new wedge!.

Sincerely,

JS
    2007-2017 Moderator of the Year.

JS nailed it right on the head. The two looks really have nothing to do with how they play but the oil can finish may need some taking care of. The oil can finish will wear off the more you play with it and will rust easier. The traditional finish is very nice and you dont need to worry about it rusting and stuff.

TmacG
    RCC Saskatchewan, Canada