|   |   |   |   |   |   |   | 

Transferring weight

Alright, I've been golfing for around 8 years, and I'm not going to lie. I'm not that great. I mean once in awhile I'll get a par/birdie and whatnot, but I'm not consistent. The other day I played one of my buddies who has been golfing for around three years he said, he's my age (16) and shooting in the 70's.
    Everyone tells me I have a really good looking swing and blah blah, but I can't seem to transfer my weight to hit the ball further. I'm hitting a 5-iron 150 yards using my arms only. My dad told me if I learned how to transfer my weight properly I could add at least another 40 yards to all of my shots. If I could hit the ball farther and put it in on the green from even 230 yards out, then I'm sure my game would improve. But the problem is I just don't seem to 'get' it.

Any ideas?? I'm open to any suggestions

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-

An easy way to get the weight transfer right is to start the dwonswing with a slight move in the hips, then as the hips rotate left try to have the feeling of crushing a can with your left heel. Be sure to keep a firm left side as you do this and your weight should be transferred perfectly over your left foot. This gets the weight transfer in the correct sequence with the hands and arms pulling the clubhead through imapct following the rest of the body, and you will start hitting it miles.
    The views expressed by Not a Hacker are not meant to be understood by you primitive screw heads. Don't take it personally, just sit back and enjoy the writings of your better.

"Weight shift/transfer" = Completely over-emphasized in golf instruction.